Question about Dinoplex C AEC101CA

Technical Topics and Discussions

Moderator: alh

Post Reply
bhiggins2
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:54 pm
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.0 Coupe

Question about Dinoplex C AEC101CA

Post by bhiggins2 » Tue Sep 08, 2020 12:56 am

I am doing an engine compartment refresh and engine compartment repaint on my 1967 Dino coupe. According to the outside of the box, I have a Dinoplex C AEC101CA. Everything I have read says that in "emergency" mode the tachometer is non-functional. I have a functioning tachometer in both "normal" and "emergency" modes. Attached are some photos of the internals. I know you can get modified units that fit inside the original Dinoplex box and I don't have a good history on the car. Does this look like genuine Dinoplex internals? If not, what do I have?

Also, I'm refinishing the exterior of the Dinoplex box and I have reproduction instruction plates [the originals are non-legible]. What sort of finish was used originally? Was it polished aluminum, a brushed finish? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Ben.
Attachments
20200907_175137.jpg
20200907_151507.jpg
20200907_151452.jpg
20200907_143107.jpg
20200907_143043.jpg

User avatar
Tobi
Site Admin
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:56 am
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.4 Coupe
Location: Upper Palatinate - Bavaria

Re: Question about Dinoplex C AEC101CA

Post by Tobi » Tue Sep 08, 2020 5:49 am

Ben, be happy to have an original and working set of Dinoplex and coil. This is worth a fortune. I'd only clean the exterior with a mild detergent and a brush. Do not use any abrasive.

Stefan2000
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:42 am
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.0 Coupe
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Question about Dinoplex C AEC101CA

Post by Stefan2000 » Tue Sep 08, 2020 4:44 pm

I'm quite sure the early ones did not have a separate tacho connection, the tacho was just connected to the points wire. That's why it is working in both normale and emergenza.
The later ones had a separate tacho wire from the Dinoplex, when the dinoplex is not functioning there is also no signal.
So in your case it's normal that the tacho works in normale and emergenza.

I would indeed also just clean it if it's in good original condition. You can get it to look like a new one if you wetblast it, but in my opinion original and clean looks much better than restored.

User avatar
Tobi
Site Admin
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:56 am
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.4 Coupe
Location: Upper Palatinate - Bavaria

Re: Question about Dinoplex C AEC101CA

Post by Tobi » Tue Sep 08, 2020 7:28 pm


bhiggins2
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:54 pm
Dino: Fiat Dino 2.0 Coupe

Re: Question about Dinoplex C AEC101CA

Post by bhiggins2 » Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:51 pm

Very helpful and solves the mystery why the tach works in both normal and emergency modes on 1967 coupe. Thanks, Ben.

Post Reply